Edward Goodrich Acheson Award

acheson-webThe Edward Goodrich Acheson Award was established in 1928 to recognize distinguished contributions to the advancement of any of the objects, purposes or activities of The Electrochemical Society.


Nomination Deadline: October 1, odd years
Presented: Fall meeting, even years

Eligibility criteria

The recipient should be distinguished for contributions consisting of: (a) discovery pertaining to electrochemical and/or solid state science and technology, (b) invention of a plan, process or device or research evidenced by a paper embodying information useful, valuable, or significant in the theory or practice of electrochemical and/or solid state science and technology.

The recipient must be a member of The Electrochemical Society, since distinguished service to the Society is also an award requirement.

Nomination guidelines

Nominations shall be considered in effect for two consecutive award cycles.

A complete nomination package includes:

  • Completed Electronic Nomination Form
  • At least two, but no more than five supporting letters (one page in length)
  • Additional documents that may be included:

– Candidate’s curriculum vitae
– Publications list
– Other pertinent information that supports and strengthens the candidate’s nomination


The award consists of a gold medal and a plaque that contains a bronze replica of the medal thereof, both bearing the recipient’s name, the sum of US $10,000, complimentary meeting registration for award recipient and companion, a dinner held in recipient’s honor during the designated meeting, and Life Membership in the Society. The recipient will receive the award in person at the designated Society meeting and deliver a general address on a subject related to the contributions for which the award is being presented.

About Edward Goodrich Acheson

Edward Goodrich Acheson was an American chemist and the 6th President of The Electrochemical Society who invented the Acheson process, which is still used to make silicon carbide (carborundum) and later a manufacturer of carborundum and graphite. Acheson worked with Thomas Edison and experimented on making a conducting carbon to be used in the electric light bulb.


Yue Kuo
Esther Takeuchi
Tetsuya Osaka
Barry Miller
Ralph J. Brodd
Dennis W. Hess
John S. Newman
Robert P. Frankenthal
Vittorio de Nora
Wayne L. Worrell
Bruce Deal
Larry R. Faulkner
Jerry M. Woodall
Richard C. Alkire

Cecil V. King
Charles W. Tobias
Samuel Ruben
Francis L. LaQue
Warren C. Vosburgh
Earl A. Gulbransen
Charles L. Faust
Henry B. Linford
William J. Kroll
Robert M. Burns
George W. Heise
John W. Marden

George W. Vinal
Duncan A. MacInnes
H. Jermain Creighton
William Blum
Charles F. Burgess
Francis C. Frary
Frederick M. Becket
Frank J. Tone
Colin G. Fink
Edwin Fitch Northrup
Edward Goodrich Acheson