ECS Logo
ECS Home Page ECS Members Education Awards Students Sponsorship Publications Meetings
Digital Library Home
Open Access
ECS Transactions
Meeting Abstracts
History Center
Manuscript Submissions
ECS Bookstore
Subscription Information
Copyright Requests
ECS Member Info
Login Info
Renew Membership Now
Career Center
Technical Interest Areas and Divisions
Student Chapters
Governance and Committees
Press Room
Advertising Opportunities
Get Free Newsletter
ECS Redcat Blog
Knowledge Base



Results of the 2013 ECS Officers Election

The ECS Tellers of the Election recently announced the results of the 2013 election of Society officers. The following are biographical sketches of the new officers.


Tetsuya OsakaTetsuya Osaka is a professor in the Department of Applied Chemistry, Faculty of Science and Engineering, Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan, a position he has held since 1986. He currently serves as Director of the Institute for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, Waseda University. Previously, he was Director of the Department of Applied Chemistry from 1996 to 1998, Dean of the Graduate School of Science and Engineering from 1998 to 2002, Provost of the Research Promotion Division from 2002 to 2006, Director of the Waseda Research Institute for Science and Engineering, and Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Research and Engineering from 2008 to 2010. He received his Doctor of Engineering degree in 1974 from Waseda University. In 1975, he was a post-doctoral fellow at Georgetown University, and in 1989 he served as a Visiting Professor at the University of Minnesota.

Dr. Osaka served as President of the Magnetics Society of Japan, President of the Electrochemical Society of Japan, President of the Japan Institute of Electronic Packaging, Vice-President of the Surface Finishing Society of Japan, Vice-President of the International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE), and Chair of the ECS Japan Section.

Prof. Osaka’s recent work is focused on electrochemical nanotechnology, including electro- and electroless-deposition/surface finishing, electronic packaging materials, magnetic storage and energy storage devices, and chemical- and bio-sensors. He has contributed as an author and/or editor to more than 70 books and published more than 890 original and review papers in these fields. He has been identified as one of the Highly Cited Researchers in the Materials Science category on the website of Thomson Scientific’s

Dr. Osaka’s technical contributions have been recognized by many awards including the Medal with Purple Ribbon bestowed by the Decoration Bureau of the Cabinet Office, Japan in 2010; Prizes for Science and Technology in the Development Category of the Commendation for Science and Technology by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science, and Technology in 2008; Society Award of the Magnetics Society of Japan in 2006; Chemical Society of Japan Award for 2003 in 2004; Pergamon Electrochimica Acta Gold Medal of ISE in 1998; Society Award of the Electrochemical Society of Japan in 2001; Society Award of the Surface Finishing Society of Japan in 1999; and the Simon Wernic International Award of the International Union for Surface Finishing in 1996. A member of ECS since 1979, Dr. Osaka served as a leading organizer and a co-editor of many proceedings volumes. He received Research Award of the Electrodeposition Division of ECS in 1996 and was elected a Fellow of ECS (2002), IEEE (2002), IUPAC (2004), and ISE (2006).


Krishnan RajeshwarKrishnan Rajeshwar's research contributions include the first demonstrated use of ionic liquid electrolytes for electrode stabilization in photoelectrochemical (PEC) devices, novel approaches to the electrosynthesis of binary and ternary semiconductor thin films, the discovery and development of new protective electrode coatings in PEC cells, the detailed study of ion transport in polymer electrodes, development of new in situ techniques for monitoring electrochemical processes, novel nanocomposite matrices for CO2 and O2 reduction, and the mechanistic aspects of heterogeneous photocatalysis. He has also co-authored several invited reviews, book chapters, and two monographs on the environmental applications of electrochemistry/photoelectrochemistry and on renewable hydrogen generation. He is the author of over 400 peer-reviewed publications in reputable journals, including several in the Journal of The Electrochemical Society and Electrochemical and Solid-State Letters.

Dr. Rajeshwar has served on several advisory panels including the National Science Foundation, American Water Works Association, Research Corporation for Science Advancement, and the Department of Energy. He has organized many symposia in solar energy conversion and conducting polymers for the American Chemical Society and ECS. Dr. Rajeshwar received the Distinguished Research Award from the University of Texas at Arlington. He is also the recipient of the Wilfred T. Doherty Award of the American Chemical Society. He was inducted into the Academy of Distinguished Scholars at UT Arlington as a charter member and now holds the title of Distinguished University Professor. He is currently an interim Associate Vice-President for Research at the University of Texas at Arlington.

Dr. Rajeshwar has been a member of ECS since 1978. He has rotated through several leadership positions within the Society including Chair of the Energy Technology Division, Chair of the New Technology Subcommittee; and has served as a member of the Technical Affairs, Ways and Means, and Honors and Awards committees. He is currently serving as the Editor of Interface and has edited several proceedings and ECS Transactions volumes for the Society. He is a Fellow of ECS and received the Energy Technology Division Research Award of the Society in 2009. More recently he served as a member of the 2010-2011 Presidential Task Force; this group oversaw the development of ECS Technical Interest Areas to help launch the new journals of the Society. He was the moderator of a discussion panel on the first Electrochemical Energy Summit that was successfully held at the Boston meeting of the Society.

Home | ECS Members | Education | Awards | Students | Sponsorship | Publications | Meetings

About | Contact | Privacy Policy | Site Map

© The Electrochemical Society, all rights reserved.